Paul Hacker .Net, TFS, Etc…

March 7, 2010

Setting up TFS, VS 2010 and Lab Management

Filed under: Team System — phacker @ 12:35 am

I decided that I was going to setup a VHD that had all the bells and whistles of TFS with Moss, VS 2010 and Lab Management. I thought it would be a good idea to write a post of all the sites/posts that I used to get up and going. I was able to accomplish eveything in a weekend, but for you it may go faster as I had downloaded some corrupt files and it took a while to figure out that was the issue.

Machine Specs
Lenovo W500 with 8GB ram, 250 GB main spindle and a 500 GB second spindle

The first thing I did was to create a 40 GB bootable VHD. To create a bootable vhd I followed this post. http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/2953-virtual-hard-drive-vhd-file-create-start-boot.html While the post focused on Windows 7, I used Windows Server 2008 R2. I created a 40 gig vhd to act as the host machine.

Once I completed the install of Windows Server, I booted into the new vhd. I added the Active Directory Domain Services and Hyper-V roles. I called my domain Demo, but you can use whatever you want.
Here is a post to get you started if you are not sure how to install roles in Windows Server 2008. http://www.petri.co.il/installing-active-directory-windows-server-2008.htm
Once I had the Hyper-V role setup, I created a 50 GB hyper-v image of Windows Server 2008 R2. This is going to be my single server install for TFS, Moss, SQL Server 2008 Office (Excel), MS Project, VS 2010, and Lab Management.

Once I had the New server image setup and patched, I joined it to the new Demo domain. I then installed all the previously mentioned components. I stumbbled upon a great guide to help you the rest of the way. The guide is focused on Beta 2 TFS/VS 2010, but it is still quite relevent for the RC. I used the guide for the remainder of my installs, except for MOSS 2007, which is really easy to install. You will need to configure MOSS for TFS 2010 after you install it. I followed this post to get that all setup. http://juliocasal.com/archive/2009/11/02/team-foundation-server-2010-beta-2-office-sharepoint-server-2007-single-server-installation-part-1.aspx

Lastly, I would like to point you to the Lab Management Team Blog. This is a great resouce for everything Lab Management. It helped me get the application deployed and tested to the Lab Servers I built
http://blogs.msdn.com/lab_management/

For all my lab images I setup the library on the second spindle for both speed and to take advantage of its capacity.

I hope that this helps you get started using the cool RC features and the new Lab Management features. While I have most everything on a single image, You can spread everything out amongst a group of sevrers. I just needed to have a good, solid, fast demo environment.

-paul

1 Comment »

  1. […] Hacker on Setting Up TFS, VS2010, and Lab Management and TFS Admin Tool […]

    Pingback by VSTS Links – 03/15/2010 « Team System Rocks! — March 15, 2010 @ 1:30 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

