Paul Hacker .Net, TFS, Etc…

April 6, 2007

Enterprise Library 3.0 released

Filed under: Uncategorized — phacker @ 4:01 am

Get it here: http://www.codeplex.com/entlib

One of the new features is that it is supposedly easier to create your own ApplicationBlocks. You will find other resources at this link also including a webcast from March 27th on the new features.

WorkItem Custom Control issues

Filed under: Uncategorized — phacker @ 3:50 am

It seems that there are some issues with VS2005 sp1 and WorkItem custom control creation. I recently rebuild my machine and started to experience some odd behavior with the new workitems that I was creating. The controls had been working prior to the rebuild so I was puzzled when the new ones I was trying to upload kept failing. The workitems also had references to a new control that I had just created. I have other controls that have been working fine so I was puzzled when I received the following error during import:

Xml validation error at row 396, column 12: The ‘Type’ attribute is invalid – The value ‘WorkItemBtnMsgReference’ is invalid according to its datatype ‘http://schemas.microsoft.com/VisualStudio/2005/workitemtracking/typedef:ValidControlsTyp
e’ – The Enumeration constraint failed.

The other oddity that really should have alerted me that something was amiss was this error that I got when I was building the new control:

Method ‘add_AfterUpdateDatasource’ in type ‘WitCustomLabel.WILabel’ from assembly WitCustomLabel, Version=1.0.2506.23549, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null’ does not have an implementation.

The method should have been IWorkItemControl.AfterUpdateDatasource, but instead i had to remove the IWorkItemControl to get it to build.

The bottom line is that The WorkitemTracking.Client dll did not get updated when I installed the VS2005 SP1. The resolution for myself was to reinstall the sp1. I then tried to upload the new workitem containing my new control and recieved an error that the AfterUpdateDatasource had not been implemented. I had to go back and put the IWorkItemControl back in and rebuilt. After this all was well and I have another new WorkItem control.

Apperently this is a big deal since I found quite a few forum postings on both of these topics. So I hope that this will find its way to those that may be experiencing these issues.

 

-paul

The WordPress Classic Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.